Prough headlines All-Region baseball team.

By: Brian Fees | Towanda Daily Review | June 21, 2018


Throughout his career Dalton Prough has been one of the best defensive players in the region. He's been a Defensive Player of the Year on the All-Region team because of his play at shortstop.

This year he had success with the glove, with the bat and also on the mound and he's this year's The Daily & Sunday Review All-Region Player of the Year.

For the second straight year Waverly's Bradey Roney is the pitcher of the year, while Tioga's Pierce Hendershot is the Silver Slugger Award Winner as the Offensive Player of the year.

Sayre catcher Nate Sweet is the Defensive Player of the Year and Sayre coach Jamie VanDuzer is coach of the year after leading Sayre to a district title and the state quarterfinals.

Tioga's Connor Hutchinson is the newcomer of the year, while Towanda's Luke Tama, who shined with the glove the bat and on the mound is the Most Versatile Player Award winner.

The first team includes Prough, Hendershot, Hutchinson, Roney and teammate Colby Sindoni; Notre Dame's Gary Raupers; Tioga's Mitchell Taylor; NP-Mansfield's Kipp Hillson; Sayre's Connor and Quinn Hanafin; Jordan Rockwell and Nate Sweet.

Wellsboro's Johnny Rowland; CV's Seth Huyler; Towanda's Tama and Lars Thomason; NEB's Tyler Devonshire; Troy's Tyler Williams; Athens' Cory Stivason and Kaden Martell of Canton are all on first team.

The second team includes Athens' Nate Kennedy; Tioga's Justin Rockwell, Derrick Barto and Brady Worthing; Notre Dame's Matt Smith and Erik Charnetski; CV's Christian Kemp; Sayre's Sam Wheeler; NP-Mansfield's Dylan Williamson; Troy's Michael Borden; Wellsboro's Caleb Tennis; NEB's Grant Allis and Nick Vrabel; Williamson's Brock Sackett and Towanda's Devin Dunn.

Canton's Nate Deegan; Towanda's Ryan Bartholomew; Wyalusing's Kyle Warner; Athens' Joe Parshall; NEB's Nick Vrabel; Wellsboro's Silas Wagaman and NP-Mansfield's Dylan Wesneski are all on second team.

The third team includes Sullivan County's Brian Lewis and Lucas Shultz; Notre Dame's Hunter Homerda; Waverly's Jason Morales and Montana Davis; Canton's Byron Marnati and Sullivan's Jared Houck.

Waverly's Ty Croft; Tioga's Mason Booser; Notre Dame's Ryess Youmans and Canton's Brendon Landis are all on third team.

Troy's Nate Martin and Clark Jackson are on third team with CV's Kurtis Easton; Wyalusing's Riley God and Jon Morrison; NEB's Ian Wilbur and Lucas Crown; Sayre's James Esposito and Williamson's Dawson Hackett.

The Gold Glove winners were Sayre's Nate Sweet at catcher; Kemp at first base; Wheeler at second; Wellsboro's Billy Lechler at third; Prough at shortstop; Tama, Raupers and Aaron Lane of Athens in the outfield. NP-Mansfield's Kipp Hillson wins a Gold Glove as a utility player.

The rookie team includes Waverly's Scott Woodring; Elijah Kraft and Colby Sindoni; Canton's Carter Route; Notre Dame's Owen Stewart; Wellsboro's Kaeden Mann; Towanda's Devin Dunn, Preston Rogers and Dawsan Manning; NEB's Crown; Hutchison and Tioga's Mason Booser; CV's Matt Barber; Athens' Keegan Rude and NP-Mansfield's Noah Spencer.


About the Author

Brian Fees Author Bio
Brian Fees

Brian Fees is the sports editor of the Daily & Sunday Review in Towanda, PA.